• Grey Vimeo Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2018 STUDIO ELEMENT

Please don’t hesitate to contact us in order to learn more about Glacial Reality
or to host a unique creation of this project in your city. 

Producer

jfdugal@studioelement.ca

+1 418-523-8317

Sales

jftremblay@studioelement.ca

+1 418-523-8317

Narrative

Once upon a time, Glacial Reality.

Earth was struck by a new ice age.

Winters started to get longer, and frost perniciously penetrated even the most robust dwellings.

The cold got more and more intense, and gusting northern winds relentlessly blew over the city. Electrical structures gave way under the weight of ice, and aqueducts turned into crystal tunnels.

Scared and hostages of the situation, humans did their best to find a solution.

Facing an urgent desire to preserve their heritage and history, they built 400 meters wide domes all around the world to salvage some locations from an impending destruction.
 

 

The Immersive

Experience

Time travel

The purpose of Glacial Reality, a virtual reality experience, is to give life to a location’s cultural heritage through a fictional work. We generate the future from a tangible location where the visitor takes place. This ongoing game between present time and a virtual universe makes Glacial Reality a one-of-a-kind project that goes beyond an ordinary virtual reality experience. It is a project bound to be rolled out throughout the world.

To enjoy this experience, the user takes place, alone, within a cube of a few square-meter diameter and wears a helmet that takes him to a new audio and visual universe within seconds.

 

For the user, the virtual experience begins in the physical cube. Suddenly, the cube walls cave in and the user discovers the magnitude of the fictional universe he was carried into.


Inside the dome, the atmosphere is puzzling. The scenery provides some visual references since some of the main buildings were preserved, while others are damaged or have completely disappeared. Time seems to stand still underneath this frosted dome.

 
 

The Creators

One dome, one artist.

Each Glacial Reality project is designed in collaboration with a citizen artist who uses the dome as a playground to share his/her vision of his/her city’s cultural heritage. It can evoke memories of a more or less distant past or anticipate the future, while respecting the history of the cultural heritage. This combination between past and future, cultural heritage and the artist’s vision surely creates something unique. This is the starting point of the experience.

The strength of this project is the fact that no matter where the event takes place, the experience is unique since it is immersed in the spirit of that place. In addition, an associated artist will be assigned to each cube. The content of the dome created by STUDIO ELEMENT will serve as the artist's playground, allowing him to express his vision of the memories and the future. The aesthetic and narrative proposal will then be specific to each location since it represents an individual's vision.
From this point, everything is possible.

Produced by STUDIO ELEMENT

STUDIO ELEMENT is an independent post-production studio managed and operated by image and technology enthusiasts. Since its opening in February 2005, its team produced many ads for television and cinema, TV series, fictions, documentaries, adventure movies, children's movies, corporate videos, music videos as well as projections and visuals for multimedia setups.

With Glacial Reality, STUDIO ELEMENT adds another string to its bow with a cutting-edge, virtual reality project.

• Grey Vimeo Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© 2018 STUDIO ELEMENT

Pour en savoir plus sur Le Grand Froid.
pour accueillir une création unique du projet dans votre ville,
n’hésitez pas à nous contacter. 

Producteur

jfdugal@studioelement.ca

+1 418-523-8317

Ventes

jftremblay@studioelement.ca

+1 418-523-8317

LE récit

Il était une fois…le Grand Froid

Une nouvelle ère glaciaire a frappé la Terre. Les hivers ont commencé à s’allonger et le gel s’est invité pernicieusement sous les habitations les plus robustes. Le froid s’est amplifié, les rafales du nord se sont abattues sans relâche sur la ville. Les structures électriques ont cédé sous le poids du verglas et les aqueducs se sont transformés en tunnels de cristaux.

 

Les humains, pris en otage et effrayés, ont tenté tant bien que mal de trouver une solution.

Confrontés à un désir urgent de préserver leur patrimoine et leur histoire, ils ont bâti des dômes de 400 mètres de diamètre un peu partout dans le monde pour sauver certains lieux d’une destruction imminente.

 

L'expérience immersive

Un voyage dans le temps

Le Grand Froid est une expérience de réalité virtuelle qui a comme objectif de faire vivre le patrimoine culturel d’un lieu à travers une œuvre fictive. A partir d’un espace réel où se trouve le visiteur, nous faisons naître le futur. Ce jeu permanent entre l’instant présent et un univers virtuel fait du Grand Froid un projet unique, dépassant la simple expérience de réalité virtuelle. Un projet appelé à être déployé à travers le monde.

Pour vivre l’expérience, l’utilisateur prend place, seul, dans un cube de quelques mètres carrés et enfile un casque qui le transporte en quelques secondes dans un nouvel univers sonore et visuel.

 

A l’intérieur du dôme, l’ambiance est déroutante. Le paysage offre quelques repères, puisque certains bâtiments principaux ont été préservés, mais d’autres bâtiments sont abîmés ou ont complètement disparu. Le temps semble s’être arrêté sous cette coupole givrée.

 
 

LES CRÉATEURS

Un dôme, un artiste

Chaque projet Le Grand Froid est conçu en collaboration avec un artiste-citoyen qui dispose du dôme comme terrain de jeu pour partager son regard sur le patrimoine culturel de sa ville. Il peut évoquer les souvenirs d’un passé plus ou moins éloigné ou anticiper le futur, dans le respect de l’histoire du patrimoine culturel. Cette combinaison entre passé et futur, patrimoine culturel et vision de l’artiste, crée à tout coup une oeuvre singulière. C’est à partir d’ici que l’expérience débute.

Une conception de STUDIO ELEMENT

STUDIO ELEMENT est un studio de postproduction indépendant géré et exploité par des passionnés de l’image et des technologies. Depuis son ouverture en février 2005, son équipe a réalisé un bon nombre de messages publicitaires pour la télévision et le cinéma, des séries télés, des fictions, des documentaires, des films d’aventures, des films pour enfants, des vidéos corporatives, des vidéoclips ainsi que des projections et des visuels d’installations multimédia.

 

Avec Le Grand Froid, STUDIO ELEMENT ajoute à son arc un projet d’avant-garde en réalité virtuelle.

www.studioelement.ca